Mood hack for bad days

Ali Griego
5 min readAug 25, 2023

Work stress, relationship problems, financial strain, or just waking up on the wrong side of the bed can cause anxiousness that ruins your entire day.

Photo by Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

You may experience brief moments of panic, an edge-of-your-seat feeling for no apparent reason, or realize you’ve been grinding your teeth or holding your breath.

These feelings can steam roll you through the day, and into the next, if you don’t take control.

I’ve talked to therapists and counselors. I’ve tried different behavioral therapies, from simple breathing techniques to the bizarre; crossing my arms across my chest and tapping my shoulders in a pattern while focusing on negative thoughts.

Look, I’m not knocking it if it works for others, but it just made me feel like a silly goose. A still-anxious silly goose.

That being said, I’ve found a hack that can help tackle these feelings through writing, which is perfect since, well, I’m a writer.

I figured what better place to share this than Medium, hopefully some may find it useful.

The Writing Hack

When I wake up with these overwhelming feelings of stress or anxiety, I use a brief writing exercise to try and refocus my energy and gain clarity.

--

--

Ali Griego

Writer, foodie, avid reader, cross trainer, & professional cat cuddler.